Overview
This page covers Koryo Sooji Chim, the hand-point system credited to Yoo Tae-woo in the early 1970s, which is called Korean hand therapy or Korean hand acupuncture in English. It describes the hand map, the stimulation methods, the studies of nausea, pain and women's health, and safety. It also explains that hand therapy in healthcare usually means upper-limb rehabilitation, a separate field.
Where does Korean Hand Therapy come from?
Origin in the early 1970s
A 2003 Korea JoongAng Daily feature reports that Yoo Tae-woo, an oriental medicine physician, created the hand-based system in 1971 while treating his own headaches, and based it on the belief that disrupted blood flow to the brain affects organ function. This is a journalist's account of the founder's own statements, and the date has not been checked against Yoo's own publications. The Korean name for the method is Koryo Sooji Chim.
Two Korean hand surgeons write that hand acupuncture therapy is a type of alternative medicine in Korea in which the hand is treated as a homunculus, a miniature representation of the whole body, and that its therapists believe stimulating the hand can improve bodily health. The same authors state that scientific evidence for the concept is still needed.
Relation to other hand and microsystem methods
Korean hand therapy is one of several hand-based systems. A 2020 comparison by authors at a Chinese university examined eight widely used hand acupuncture schools, including traditional hand acupuncture and a Korean finger needle approach, and found that point positioning and needling methods were not unified and that the conditions each school treats best were not specified. The authors called for standardization.
Other microsystem methods, such as ear-point stimulation, are covered on the Auricular Acupuncture page. Findings for ear-point methods are not carried over to hand-based methods on this page, and the hand-versus-ear question is not addressed by the sources reviewed here.
What do the names and terms mean?
Names and abbreviations
The method appears in English-language journals under several names: Koryo hand therapy, abbreviated KHT, Korean hand acupuncture, abbreviated KHA, and Koryo hand acupuncture. A 2005 anesthesia trial refers to K-D2 as the Korean hand acupressure point in Koryo hand therapy. The abbreviation KHT is also used for a needle-free form delivered to children in a 2015 pediatric report.
Points are labeled with a K- prefix and a letter and number, such as K-D2 and K-A20. These labels belong to the Korean hand system and are not the same as the meridian-based point names used in body acupuncture; the thyroid-surgery trial notes that K-D2 is not identical to the Chinese point Pericardium 6.
Hand therapy as a separate field
In healthcare, the term hand therapy most often refers to rehabilitation of hand and upper-limb injuries delivered by occupational therapists or physical therapists. That field is distinct from Korean hand therapy and is described in the section on disambiguation below. Readers searching for a hand rehabilitation therapist are looking for the mainstream field, not for this practice.
What does Korean Hand Therapy involve?
The hand map and point selection
According to the 2003 feature, the method locates tender points on the hand that are said to correspond to body regions, with the middle finger standing for the head and the other fingers for the limbs. Practitioners find sensitive zones with a blunt probe and stimulate them with small needles, herbs, magnets or pressure. A session typically uses about 10 points, needles are inserted about 1 to 3 millimeters for 20 to 30 minutes, and treatment is described as daily or on alternate days.
Trial protocols vary. A sham-controlled irritable bowel syndrome trial used 16 hand points for 25 minutes twice a week for 4 weeks, and its sham group was treated at areas described as unrelated to bowel symptoms. A pilot study of premenstrual symptoms framed the treatment in qi, yin, yang and five-element theory and gave 10 sessions of either hand needling or hand moxibustion.
Needle-free and topical forms
Several studies stimulated a Korean hand point without needles. Capsicum plaster or capsaicin ointment was applied at K-D2 or K-A20 before surgery and removed about 8 hours afterward, and one pediatric review used a needle-free form of Korean hand therapy. In those studies the stimulus is a skin irritant or pressure, which differs from needling and should be kept in mind when reading their results.
Descriptions of where K-D2 lies are not identical across sources. One trial places it on the lateral side of the distal index finger, while a nursing trial applied the plaster at K-D2 on the second and fourth fingers. A reader should check the point definition in each study before comparing them.
What is Korean Hand Therapy used for?
Conditions addressed in published studies
Published studies of Korean hand therapy or hand acupuncture have examined postoperative nausea and vomiting, postoperative sore throat, menopausal symptoms, premenstrual symptoms, chronic low back pain, irritable bowel syndrome and pain after tonsillectomy in children. These are conditions that investigators chose to study, not conditions for which benefit has been established.
A survey of Chinese-language literature from 1953 to 2017 on hand acupuncture in general found it reported across surgery, internal medicine, pediatrics, eye, ear, nose and throat, gynecology and dermatology. The authors report high rates of a combined category of complete and marked improvement, but the survey summarizes published reports and does not apply controls, and it concerns hand acupuncture broadly rather than the Korean system.
The founder's stated limits
In the 2003 feature, Yoo is quoted as saying that conditions requiring surgery and infectious diseases cannot be treated with hand acupuncture. That statement is the founder's own boundary for the method; it is not a systematic list of indications or contraindications.
What does the research show?
Postoperative nausea, vomiting and sore throat
The most controlled studies concern capsaicin applied at Korean hand points. In a randomized, double-blind trial of 186 patients after laparoscopic cholecystectomy, capsaicin ointment at K-D2 gave an absolute risk reduction in nausea and vomiting of 21 percent over 0 to 6 hours and 11 percent over 6 to 24 hours compared with placebo ointment. In a four-arm trial of 184 thyroid surgery patients with 46 per group, nausea at 24 hours was 22 percent with capsicum plaster at K-D2, against 59 percent with inactive tape and 50 percent with plaster on the shoulders as a sham.
The thyroid trial's authors state that its groups are small for this type of study and note that capsaicin itself may act on vagal modulation, so the result cannot be attributed to the hand point alone. A 68-patient nursing trial added capsicum plaster at K-D2 to ramosetron and found less nausea at 2 hours. A 150-patient trial using K-A20 reported moderate to severe sore throat at 24 hours in 0 percent of the treated group and 16 to 19 percent of the controls.
Women's health and low back pain: non-randomized studies
A Korean study of 44 women found that eight weeks of Koryo hand therapy, three times a week, was accompanied by differences in follicle-stimulating hormone and luteinizing hormone but not estradiol, along with fewer self-reported menopausal symptoms. A separate 45-participant nonequivalent-control study reported similar findings; whether the samples overlap was not determined. Both used non-randomized designs.
A pilot study of premenstrual symptoms reported lower symptom severity after 10 sessions of either hand needling or hand moxibustion compared with controls, with thermography changes only in the moxibustion group. A 63-patient back pain study combined hand acupuncture with another intervention, so its pain and activity findings cannot be assigned to hand acupuncture alone. Neither design randomized participants.
Sham-controlled and uncontrolled studies
A sham-controlled trial in 42 women with irritable bowel syndrome reported less loose stool, bloating and abdominal pain in the treated group, but no significant effect on stress, mental health or heart rate variability. An uncontrolled retrospective review of 29 children offered needle-free Korean hand therapy after tonsillectomy reported mean pain falling from 5.03 to 3.06 out of 10, with no comparison group and self-selected participants.
A trial of a different, single-needle hand technique in 24 patients with musculoskeletal pain found improvement in all three arms and no advantage over the control techniques. It does not test Koryo hand therapy, but it shows that before-and-after improvement cannot be attributed to the points alone.
What the searches did not find
Searches of PubMed for Korean hand acupuncture, Koryo hand therapy, hand acupuncture reviews and related terms did not identify a systematic review or meta-analysis of Korean hand therapy. The reviews retrieved concerned wrist-ankle acupuncture, a different method, and are not carried over.
Disambiguation: hand therapy in rehabilitation
The mainstream rehabilitation field
In most healthcare settings hand therapy is not acupuncture. The American Society of Hand Therapists describes it as the art and science of evaluating and treating injuries and conditions of the upper extremity, from shoulder to hand, and says a hand therapist is an occupational or physical therapist with advanced education and experience. Its certified hand therapist credential requires at least three years of practice and 4,000 hours of treatment, plus an examination.
Professional bodies in the United Kingdom
The British Association of Hand Therapists describes itself as a UK charity and clinical interest group for hand rehabilitation, with membership of occupational therapists and physiotherapists. A hand therapist in this sense does not practice Korean hand therapy by virtue of the title, and a Koryo hand therapy practitioner is not thereby a rehabilitation hand therapist.
What are the safety considerations?
Reported adverse effects
The sources reviewed contain little systematic information on harms. The pediatric review of needle-free Korean hand therapy reported no adverse effects apart from one child who reported a slight increase in pain. A PubMed-indexed article titled Hand acupuncture and vascular injury exists, but its abstract was not available and no finding from it is stated here.
The abstracts of the other trials reviewed did not report adverse events in detail, and the absence of such reports does not show absence of harm. Needling carries general needle-related risks, and capsicum products applied to skin can irritate; these sources do not quantify either for Korean hand therapy.
Suitability and care boundaries
The founder is quoted as stating that conditions needing surgery and infectious diseases are not suited to the method. The trials reviewed were conducted in hospital or research settings in which stimulation was added to usual perioperative or nursing care, and the sources do not support using it in place of such care. Readers with a medical condition should not delay or replace necessary care.
No statutory regulation, training standard or professional register specific to Korean hand therapy was found in the sources reviewed. The 2020 comparison of hand acupuncture schools states that positioning and needling methods are not unified, so practitioner qualifications and techniques may differ between schools.
Connected Entries
Classification and context
- Entry type
- Modality
- Practice type
- Hand-point acupuncture microsystem (Korean)
- Traditions
- Korean acupuncture, East Asian medicine, Korean nursing practice
- Concepts
- Hand as a body microsystem (homunculus), Correspondence points, K-point labels (K-D2, K-A20), Tender-point location, Hand moxibustion, Capsicum or capsaicin stimulation, Sham stimulation
- Categories
- Alternative
Sources and discovery context
Research and public-health sources support evidence and safety context. Directory and discovery sources describe navigation, relationships, practitioners, and access—not clinical efficacy.
A newspaper feature quoting the originator on how the method began and is applied.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the 1971 origin as the founder reported it, the hand map, point-finding, stimulation methods and needle depth as described there, and the founder's stated limits. Must not be read as independent evidence of benefit or as a verified history.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Practice Description, Safety and Suitability
Two Korean hand surgeons describe the hand-as-homunculus idea and note that evidence is lacking.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the description of hand acupuncture therapy in Korea as treating the hand as a homunculus and the authors' statement that scientific evidence is needed. Must not be read as evidence that the hand maps the body.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins
Authors at a Chinese university compare eight hand acupuncture schools and call for standards.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the statements that several hand acupuncture schools exist, that point positioning and needling are not unified and that dominant diseases are not specified. Must not be read as ranking the schools or as evidence of effect.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
A placebo-controlled trial of capsaicin ointment at a named Koryo hand point.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports a randomized, double-blind comparison in 186 patients after laparoscopic cholecystectomy. Must not be read as showing that hand-point stimulation rather than capsaicin accounts for the result, or as applying beyond that surgical setting.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Research and Evidence
A single-region trial with a capsicum-at-shoulder sham comparing K-D2 with the P6 point.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the four-arm design, the group sizes, the incidence figures and the authors' stated limitation of small groups. Must not be read as showing benefit in other operations or as a test of needle-based Koryo therapy.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
A nursing trial adding capsicum at K-D2 to a standard preventive antiemetic.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports a trial of 68 patients in which Koryo hand therapy was added to ramosetron. Must not be read as showing benefit without the drug or in unselected patients.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
A sham-controlled anesthesia trial at a named Korean hand point.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports a randomized, double-blind, sham-controlled trial in 150 hysterectomy patients and the use of K- point labels. Must not be read as evidence for other throat or pain problems.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence
A small sham-controlled nursing trial with mixed results.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the 42-participant sham-controlled design, the 16-point schedule and the mixed outcomes. Must not be read as applying to men, other ages or other bowel conditions.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
A small non-randomized study measuring FSH, LH and estradiol after Koryo hand therapy.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports a 44-participant two-group design, an 8-week schedule and hormone findings. Must not be read as showing a hormonal mechanism or benefit in other groups.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence
A Korean nursing study of the same intervention and outcomes.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports a 45-participant nonequivalent-control design. Must not be read as independent replication of Shin 2010.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
A pilot study comparing hand needling and hand moxibustion with no treatment.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the description of hand acupuncture and hand moxibustion, the theory framing and the pilot findings. Must not be read as showing that thermography changes reflect qi flow.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence
A 4-week quasi-experimental study in a back school.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports a 63-patient design in which hand acupuncture was combined with another intervention. Must not be read as isolating the effect of hand acupuncture.
- Supports sections
- Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence
An uncontrolled review in 29 children, reported by a clinician who offered the method.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the description of a needle-free form, the uncontrolled design, the reported pain scores and the statement on adverse effects. Must not be read as showing benefit, because there was no comparison group.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
A small randomized trial of a related but distinct hand-needling technique.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the statement that all three arms improved and that the hand technique did not beat the controls. Must not be read as a trial of Koryo hand therapy.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
A literature survey of reported hand acupuncture applications, not of Koryo hand therapy as such.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the statement that hand acupuncture, in Chinese medical literature from 1953 to 2017, was reported across many clinical departments. Must not be read as Korean-specific or as showing effect, since it summarizes reported rates without controls.
- Supports sections
- Claimed Uses
An indexed article whose content could not be verified.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports only that a journal article on hand acupuncture and vascular injury is indexed in PubMed. No finding from it is stated, and it must not be read as describing frequency, mechanism or Korean hand therapy specifically.
- Supports sections
- Safety and Suitability
The American Society of Hand Therapists describes upper-extremity rehabilitation and its CHT credential.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the society's own definition of hand therapy, its description of a hand therapist and its certification criteria. Must not be read as a statement about acupuncture.
- Supports sections
- Terminology
The British Association of Hand Therapists describes itself and its members.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the association's own description as a charity and clinical interest group for hand rehabilitation whose membership is occupational therapists and physiotherapists. Must not be read as a statement about acupuncture.
- Supports sections
- Terminology
Links to Gyfts Korean Hand Therapy page for this practice, for discovery only. The platform's descriptions and claims are not independent claims. Machipedia does not rely on them for evidence.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Links to Gyfts' page for this practice, for discovery only. The platform's descriptions and claims are not independent evidence, and nothing on this Machipedia page relies on them.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description