Overview
This page describes low-dose vaginal estrogen as a standard medical treatment, not an alternative practice. It covers the terms used (genitourinary syndrome of menopause, vulvovaginal atrophy), the evidence from systematic reviews and cohort studies, what clinical bodies state, harms and contraindications, and the situation of people with a history of breast cancer. It gives no doses or instructions.
Where does Low-Dose Vaginal Estrogen come from?
Local estrogen as an alternative to systemic therapy
A Cochrane review describes vaginal atrophy as a frequent complaint of postmenopausal women, with symptoms including vaginal dryness, itching, discomfort and painful intercourse. It notes that systemic hormone therapy by mouth is not always necessary for these symptoms and that an alternative is estrogen preparations given vaginally, in the form of creams, pessaries, tablets and an estradiol-releasing ring. Low-dose vaginal estrogen belongs to this group of locally applied products. It is prescribed within conventional medical care and is not an alternative or folk practice.
Labeling after the Women's Health Initiative
A US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) public-health notice states that, based on Women's Health Initiative findings, the agency began approving class-wide labeling changes in 2003 for estrogen-plus-progestogen and estrogen-alone products, including products approved for vulvar and vaginal atrophy. These changes eventually included a Boxed Warning about cardiovascular disorders, invasive breast cancer and probable dementia. The notice adds that the agency later received questions about whether these warnings were warranted, particularly for local vaginal estrogen-only products.
On 10 November 2025 the FDA informed application holders of requested labeling changes for menopausal hormone therapies, including proposed removal of language about cardiovascular disease, breast cancer and probable dementia from the Boxed Warnings and condensed safety information for local vaginal estrogen products. These are proposed labeling changes described in the notice, and this page does not rely on any later regulatory outcome. The Menopause Society stated on the same date that it agreed with removal of the boxed warning on low-dose vaginal estrogen therapies used for genitourinary symptoms.
What do the names and terms mean?
Genitourinary syndrome of menopause and vulvovaginal atrophy
A consensus conference of the International Society for the Study of Women's Sexual Health and The North American Menopause Society, held in May 2013 and endorsed by both boards in 2014, agreed that genitourinary syndrome of menopause (GSM) is a medically more accurate, all-encompassing and publicly acceptable term than vulvovaginal atrophy. GSM is defined as symptoms and signs associated with a decrease in estrogen and other sex steroids, involving the labia, clitoris, vestibule, vagina, urethra and bladder. It can include dryness, burning, irritation, discomfort or pain with sex, urgency, painful urination and recurrent urinary tract infections. Symptoms must be bothersome and not better explained by another diagnosis.
Older papers and the Cochrane reviews use vaginal atrophy, vulvovaginal atrophy or atrophic vaginitis, and the two terms overlap in the literature. The 2020 Menopause Society position statement treats symptomatic vulvovaginal atrophy as a component of GSM.
What low-dose and local mean
Guideline texts use local or vaginal estrogen for products placed in the vagina, with the cream, gel, tablet, pessary and ring forms named in NICE guidance. NICE states that the estrogen is absorbed locally and that a minimal amount reaches the bloodstream compared with systemic hormone therapy. A systematic review of published studies found that systemic estradiol levels reflected dose, formulation and placement in the vagina, and that very low systemic absorption was seen with low and ultralow doses. Local products are distinct from systemic therapy, which is covered on the Machipedia pages Hormone Replacement Therapy, Menopausal Estrogen-Progestogen Therapy and Menopausal Estrogen-Alone Therapy.
What does Low-Dose Vaginal Estrogen involve?
Forms and who delivers them
Vaginal estrogen is a prescription treatment managed by physicians and other licensed prescribing clinicians, so access, labeling and prescribing rules are set within each health system. NICE guidance advises that a person who chooses vaginal estrogen make a shared decision with a clinician about whether to use a cream, gel, tablet, pessary or ring. It also advises regular review. This page gives no doses, products or application steps, which belong to a prescriber and the product information.
How clinical bodies frame its use
NICE guidance for people with genitourinary symptoms associated with menopause advises offering vaginal estrogen, including to people also using systemic therapy, and notes that it can be used alone or with non-hormonal moisturizers or lubricants. It also advises explaining that symptoms often return when vaginal estrogen is stopped. The Menopause Society position statement states that when low-dose vaginal estrogen is used a progestogen is not indicated, while noting that endometrial safety has not been studied in clinical trials beyond one year. Oversight comes mainly through professional guidance of this kind, such as NICE, The Menopause Society and national obstetrics and gynecology bodies, and this page does not cover legal frameworks.
What is Low-Dose Vaginal Estrogen used for?
Vaginal and sexual symptoms
The Menopause Society reports that GSM affects approximately 27% to 84% of postmenopausal women and can impair health, sexual function and quality of life. It is likely underdiagnosed and undertreated. Its statement places low-dose vaginal estrogens among therapies that are effective for moderate to severe GSM, alongside vaginal DHEA, systemic estrogen therapy and ospemifene, and states that nonhormone products available without a prescription provide sufficient relief for most women with mild symptoms.
Urinary symptoms and recurrent urinary tract infections
The 2014 terminology consensus lists urinary urgency, painful urination and recurrent urinary tract infections among the urinary symptoms that can belong to GSM. A 2026 overview of 27 systematic reviews of non-antibiotic prevention in women with recurrent urinary tract infection found that vaginal estrogen is supported by systematic reviews among postmenopausal women, while questions remain about dose, duration and adherence.
What does the research show?
Cochrane review for vaginal atrophy
The Cochrane review of local estrogen for vaginal atrophy included 30 randomized trials with 6235 women, comparing different intravaginal preparations with each other and with placebo for at least 12 weeks. The authors found low-quality evidence that intravaginal estrogen preparations improve symptoms of vaginal atrophy compared with placebo. They found no evidence of a difference in efficacy between cream, tablets and ring. The evidence was low to moderate in quality, with poor reporting of methods and imprecise estimates. A 2024 meta-analysis of 18 placebo-controlled trials (4,723 participants) reported improvement in vaginal pH, dyspareunia and cell maturation measures but no significant effect on vaginal dryness.
Recurrent urinary tract infection
An earlier Cochrane review of estrogens to prevent recurrent urinary tract infection in postmenopausal women included nine studies with 3345 women. Oral estrogens did not reduce infections compared with placebo, whereas two small trials found that vaginal estrogens did, with results varying by estrogen type and duration. A 2020 meta-analysis of eight randomized trials reported the same pattern: five trials of vaginal estrogen (1,936 participants) showed a relative risk of 0.42 for recurrent infection compared with placebo, and three trials of oral estrogen showed no significant difference.
Systemic absorption
A systematic review of published studies reported that mean blood estradiol levels in untreated postmenopausal women are low and that, with lower-dose vaginal products, levels reflected the dose and formulation and were influenced by placement in the vagina. Serum levels were generally lower when more specific assays were used. NICE describes the amount reaching the bloodstream as minimal compared with systemic therapy while noting that some is absorbed.
Breast cancer risk in observational data
In the Nurses' Health Study, which followed postmenopausal women not using systemic hormone therapy from 1982 to 2012, vaginal estrogen users and non-users did not differ in risk of cardiovascular disease, cancer (including breast cancer) or hip fracture over 18 years, and no statistically significant increase in risk was observed for any outcome. The authors state that the data are observational and self-reported. This page has not independently reviewed Danish registry analyses or the ACOG opinion, so their findings are not reported here.
What are the safety considerations?
Reported adverse events
The Cochrane review of estrogens for recurrent urinary tract infection lists adverse events for vaginal estrogens as breast tenderness, vaginal bleeding or spotting, nonphysiologic discharge, and vaginal irritation, burning and itching. In the Cochrane atrophy review, estrogen cream was associated with a greater increase in endometrial thickness than the ring in low-quality evidence, which the authors suggest may reflect higher cream doses. The Menopause Society statement notes that long-term endometrial studies are lacking beyond one year.
History of breast cancer
Sources describe this as a situation for specialist input. NICE advises offering non-hormonal moisturizers or lubricants first to people with a personal history of breast cancer, and considering vaginal estrogen if symptoms continue, in discussion with a breast cancer specialist for people on aromatase inhibitors. It states that it is unknown whether vaginal estrogen affects the risk of recurrence. The Menopause Society reports insufficient data to confirm safety in women with breast cancer, and a French guideline calls current recurrence data reassuring but not sufficient to conclude the treatment is safe. A 2025 meta-analysis of six observational studies found no increase in mortality, but a possible increased recurrence risk during aromatase inhibitor treatment (relative risk 2.51, low certainty), and none during tamoxifen. A 2019 meta-analysis of eleven studies found no systemic hormone change after eight weeks, which the authors describe as indirect evidence.
Alternatives named in guidelines
Guidelines name other options for the same symptoms. The Menopause Society lists vaginal lubricants and moisturizers, vaginal DHEA (see the Machipedia page DHEA Supplementation), systemic hormone therapy and ospemifene, and finds too few placebo-controlled trials of laser to draw conclusions. NICE advises considering vaginal prasterone if vaginal estrogen or non-hormonal products have been ineffective or are not tolerated, and advises against laser treatment outside a randomized trial. Vaginal estrogen is not a substitute for assessment of new bleeding or other symptoms, and no source reviewed supports delaying medical care.
Connected Entries
Showing 8 of 12 related records.
Classification and context
- Entry type
- Modality
- Practice type
- Locally applied hormone treatment (standard medical care)
- Traditions
- Not assigned
- Concepts
- Genitourinary syndrome of menopause, Vulvovaginal atrophy
- Categories
- Complementary
Sources and discovery context
Research and public-health sources support evidence and safety context. Directory and discovery sources describe navigation, relationships, practitioners, and access—not clinical efficacy.
Two societies agreed on GSM as the preferred term in place of vulvovaginal atrophy.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the definition and naming of GSM; does not support treatment claims.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Claimed Uses
The statement reviews pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic options for GSM and states where data are lacking.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports statements about options, endometrial data and breast cancer; abstract only, so nuances in the full text are not reported.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Safety and Suitability
Search ran to April 2016 and included 30 randomized trials.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports symptom and endometrial findings from trials of at least 12 weeks; evidence low to moderate quality.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Terminology, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Nine studies with 3345 women were included.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports findings on oral versus vaginal estrogen and listed adverse events; does not reflect later trials.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Eight trials were pooled, five of them of vaginal estrogen.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the pooled estimates for vaginal and oral estrogen against placebo; trial quality not assessed here.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
Reports benefit for pH and dyspareunia but not for dryness.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports pooled outcomes from 18 trials; heterogeneity was high (I-squared 88 to 99 percent).
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
Summarizes measured blood estradiol levels by dose and assay.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports statements on serum estradiol and dose dependence; industry-affiliated authors; does not show clinical outcomes.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Research and Evidence
Followed postmenopausal women from 1982 to 2012.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports no difference in outcomes between users and non-users; observational and self-reported, so causation cannot be inferred; not a study of women with prior breast cancer.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
Pooled 38,050 patients on adjuvant endocrine treatment, 1,805 exposed to topical estrogen.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Six observational studies; confounding by indication and node status noted by the authors; low-certainty recurrence signal with aromatase inhibitors.
- Supports sections
- Safety and Suitability
Eleven studies were included.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Measures serum hormone levels over a short period, not cancer recurrence; the authors call it indirect evidence.
- Supports sections
- Safety and Suitability
French college and menopause society guideline.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the French position on breast cancer history; abstract only.
- Supports sections
- Safety and Suitability
Covers reviews from 2014 to 2025.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the statement on vaginal estrogen in postmenopausal women; not a primary trial.
- Supports sections
- Claimed Uses
The 2024 genitourinary recommendations are carried in the current version.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports statements on offering vaginal estrogen, absorption, breast cancer history and laser; UK context.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Describes class labeling since 2003 and proposed changes for local vaginal products.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports history of class labeling and the proposed changes only; no legal outcome is described or inferred.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins
A short society comment issued on the day of the FDA announcement.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the society's stated agreement with removal of the boxed warning on low-dose vaginal estrogen only.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins