Overview
This article covers Biofield Tuning, a tuning-fork method developed by Eileen Day McKusick, and the word biofield that it borrows. It sets out how the method describes itself, what a session involves, what the few published studies examined, and what the method's own organisation says about cautions. It also separates practitioner explanations from findings.
Where does Biofield Tuning come from?
Eileen McKusick and the method's origins
The method is associated with Eileen Day McKusick. Her own website says she holds an MA in Integrative Education, that she has researched the effects of sound on the body since 1996, and that Biofield Tuning has trained more than 2,000 students worldwide since 2010. These are statements from the founder's organisation and were not checked independently. The method's website describes its Biofield Anatomy Map as a compilation of more than 25 years of her observations, and the pages reviewed give no further account of how the method developed.
Publications and the research institute
The founder's website lists a book, Tuning the Human Biofield, and a second book, Electric Body, Electric Health, published by St. Martin's Press in January 2021. It says she developed weighted tuning forks and related accessories, and it describes the Biofield Tuning Institute as an organisation that conducts grant-funded, IRB-approved, peer-reviewed studies. The published papers reviewed here list McKusick as an author with an institute affiliation, so the method's developer has taken part in its published research.
The biofield concept before the method
The word biofield is older than the method. Rubik and colleagues (2015) report that it was coined by an ad hoc committee of the US National Institutes of Health Office of Alternative Medicine at a 1992 conference in Chantilly, Virginia, which defined it as a massless field, not necessarily electromagnetic, that surrounds and permeates living bodies and affects the body. The same paper traces earlier field-based ideas in biology, naming work by Alexander Gurwitsch and Robert Becker. The sources reviewed do not say whether Biofield Tuning draws on that earlier literature directly.
What do the names and terms mean?
Biofield as a term
Rubik and colleagues use 'biofield therapy' for healer-based interactions with biofields within and around living systems, and they distinguish it from 'energy medicine', which they describe as the application of extremely low-level signals to the body. They call biofield science nascent. The 1992 definition says the field is not necessarily electromagnetic, whereas the method's website describes working with the body's electrical system and the magnetic field around it. None of the sources reviewed shows that a field of the kind described has been measured.
Biofield Tuning as a named method
Biofield Tuning is the name of one specific method, and the research papers abbreviate it as BT. It is not a general term for sound work with tuning forks. Practitioners describe areas of resistance, turbulence or dissonance in the biofield. These are terms internal to the method and not measured biomedical constructs. The inter-rater study uses the word perturbations for the locations that practitioners identified.
Related labels
The published papers variously call the method biofield-based sound healing, distance healing and virtual care, and the title of the anxiety study uses the phrase sound healing. That phrase covers a wider and loosely defined group of practices. Findings about other sound practices should not be applied to this method, and the reverse also holds.
What does Biofield Tuning involve?
A typical session
The method's website says a client lies fully clothed on a treatment table while the practitioner activates tuning forks and scans the biofield, starting about six feet away. The practitioner listens for changes in the sound of the fork and feels for resistance and turbulence. Where such an area is found, the fork is held there so that, in practitioners' explanation, the body's organising intelligence can use a steady, coherent vibration to correct itself. Sessions can also be delivered remotely, and a series of three weekly sessions is usually recommended to begin.
Forks and research protocols
The pages reviewed do not give fork frequencies. The founder's site says she developed weighted forks. In the inter-rater study, practitioners used an activated 174 Hz unweighted fork to comb four sites per volunteer. In the 2023 anxiety study, five certified practitioners gave three weekly one-hour sessions over a month by video call. These are research protocols and not a standard session.
Training pathway
The method's training has four levels that must be completed in succession: Foundations, Practitioner, Advanced and Mastering Artistry. The site says that after the second level a person has the knowledge needed to open a practice. It names physicians, nurses, psychotherapists, physical therapists, chiropractors, massage therapists, Reiki practitioners and coaches as people who add the method to existing work. The page does not state training hours, prerequisites beyond the sequence, or which body certifies practitioners.
What is Biofield Tuning used for?
Claims made by the method's organisation
The method's website presents it as supporting resilience, balance and awareness. It also describes physical, mental and emotional problems as dissonance that the method can alleviate and even eradicate, while acknowledging that some conditions respond well and others less so. These are statements by the organisation that teaches the method. They are not research findings and are not specific to any condition or outcome.
Uses that have been studied
The published outcome studies concern anxiety. The 2023 feasibility study recruited adults with moderate to high anxiety on the GAD-7 scale (score of 10 or above) and described them as meeting criteria for generalised anxiety disorder, and a companion paper reports what participants said spontaneously about their sessions. The inter-rater study concerned the assessment procedure and not any treatment outcome. None of the sources reviewed studied pain or any other condition.
What does the research show?
One-group anxiety feasibility study
A one-group, mixed-method study delivered over video call during the COVID-19 pandemic enrolled 15 adults with a GAD-7 score of 10 or above. Five certified practitioners gave three weekly one-hour sessions across a month. Two participants dropped out after one session, an attrition of 13.3%. In intention-to-treat analyses, scores on the State-Trait Anxiety Inventory, a negative affect scale and the Perceived Stress Scale were lower afterwards (p < 0.001 for each). The authors call the method feasible and say the data will be used to power a randomised trial.
There was no comparison group, so the study cannot separate an effect of the method from expectation, time, attention or natural change in anxiety. The authors' description of the reductions as clinically significant is their own wording.
Participant experiences
A qualitative paper from the same pilot reports 30-minute interviews with the 12 participants who completed them (13 completed the quantitative measures). Participants were surprised by how much they felt and by changes they heard in the forks. They commented on the accuracy of the practitioners' perceptions and described positive shifts in how they saw themselves and their surroundings. These are self-reports from a small sample and do not test whether the practitioners' perceptions were accurate.
Inter-rater agreement on the assessment
Three practitioners each identified the locations of the four or five strongest perturbations along four sites for the same ten adult volunteers, using a 174 Hz unweighted fork. Agreement within two inches was 33%, and a Monte Carlo analysis supported the conclusion that agreement was poor. The authors note that the procedure is incompletely understood and that an earlier assessment may affect later ones. The method's website reports that the work was funded by a foundation grant and that its result led the founder to prioritise practitioner training.
What has not been found
Searches of PubMed for biofield tuning with tuning fork, for the founder's name with the method name, and for tuning-fork therapy systematic reviews returned two, three and no records respectively. They identified no randomised controlled trial and no systematic review of this method. The method's website says a three-year study with 60 volunteers and a control group is funded, and its status was not verified here.
What are the criticisms and limits?
Status of the biofield concept
The US National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health states, on its Reiki page, that there is no scientific evidence supporting the existence of the energy field thought to play a role in Reiki. That statement concerns Reiki and not Biofield Tuning, but it indicates how the underlying idea is viewed by a national agency. A 2014 review of trials of non-contact biofield therapies (external qigong, Healing Touch, Johrei, Reiki and Therapeutic Touch) found 18 higher-quality trials, 12 of which reported at least one significant primary outcome. Its authors said the pilot nature of the trials precluded robust conclusions. Biofield Tuning was not among the therapies reviewed.
A 2014 systematic review of physiological measurements in biofield practitioners found 22 eligible studies of moderate to poor quality and little robust evidence of unique physiological changes in the healing state.
Design limits and independence
The studies of the method are small, have no control group and rely on self-report. The anxiety study used certified practitioners of the method, and McKusick is an author of all three papers, which carry affiliations with the Biofield Tuning Institute and a research initiative that worked with it. Funding was not stated in the records reviewed except for the inter-rater study, which the method's website says had a foundation grant. These facts do not show bias, but the evidence is not independent of the method's organisation.
What are the safety considerations?
Cautions published by the method's organisation
The organisation publishes a cautions and guidance document (version 1.3, 2024). It says the content rests on anecdotal experience and not on organised research, and it advises asking a doctor if uncertain. It lists active cancer, end of life, acute or advanced illness, pregnancy, electrical medical implants, recent concussion, controlled seizures, morbid obesity and metal toxicity as circumstances for caution. It advises avoiding firm pressure with weighted forks over large varicose veins, recent fractures and dental anomalies. Much of the document explains these cautions through a belief that sessions trigger a detoxification response, a view that the sources reviewed do not test.
Medication, mental health and care boundaries
The same document suggests that clients work with their prescribing provider to monitor medication needs and that practitioners work as part of a support team for severe or long-term depression and addiction. It says forks may interfere with electrical implants and advises waiting at least three months after a significant head injury before work on or near the head. It reports that very few adverse reactions have been noted in group audio sessions, without giving numbers. The published studies reviewed here, as abstracts, do not report adverse-event data. A session does not replace assessment or treatment of anxiety, new symptoms or any urgent condition.
Training and regulation
Certification is offered by the method's own organisation, and the training page reviewed does not state hours, a certifying body or any external accreditation. No statutory regulation or independent training standard for the method was found. Some people who add the method to their work belong to other professions, and any register or code of ethics of those professions applies to that wider work and not to the method itself.
Connected Entries
Showing 8 of 29 related records.
Classification and context
- Entry type
- Modality
- Practice type
- Tuning-fork sound practice based on a biofield concept
- Traditions
- Biofield Tuning (Eileen Day McKusick, United States), Biofield therapies (term from a 1992 US National Institutes of Health conference)
- Concepts
- Biofield, Biofield Anatomy Map, Tuning forks, Sound healing, Distance sessions, Perturbations in the biofield
- Categories
- Metaphysical, Alternative
Sources and discovery context
Research and public-health sources support evidence and safety context. Directory and discovery sources describe navigation, relationships, practitioners, and access—not clinical efficacy.
The teaching organisation's own account of the method, session format and claimed scope.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports how the method describes itself, session format and organisational claims. Must not be read as evidence that the claims are correct or that a biofield has been measured.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses
Founder biography published by her own organisation.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports who developed the method, her stated background, dates and publications as self-reported. Must not be read as independent verification of credentials or training numbers.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Practice Description
The organisation's summary of its research programme.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the funding statement for the inter-rater study and the existence of a planned follow-up study. Must not be read as confirming that the follow-up study is running or will report.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Describes the levels of the method's own certification pathway.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the four-level structure and what the page does not state. Must not be read as evidence about regulation anywhere or about training quality.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description, Safety and Suitability
Practice-owner guidance listing circumstances in which the organisation advises caution.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports what the organisation advises about cautions. Must not be read as evidence that a given risk or mechanism (including detoxification) exists, or as an exhaustive list of risks.
- Supports sections
- Safety and Suitability
Three practitioners located perturbations for the same ten volunteers and agreed poorly.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the design and the poor agreement result for locating perturbations with a 174 Hz unweighted fork in ten healthy volunteers. Must not be read as a test of any treatment outcome.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence
A small uncontrolled pilot reporting lower anxiety, negative affect and stress scores after three sessions.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports a pilot result in 15 adults with anxiety, delivered by video call, without a control group. Must not be read as showing the method reduces anxiety, or as evidence for any other use or in-person delivery.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability, Terminology
Interviews with pilot participants about their sessions and what they noticed afterwards.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports what 12 participants reported in interviews. Must not be read as evidence that practitioner perceptions were accurate or that outcomes were caused by the method.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Review by researchers in the field setting out the history and vocabulary of the biofield concept.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the 1992 coinage, definition and terminology. Must not be read as showing a biofield exists or that the method acts through one.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Terminology
Review of 28 trials of non-contact biofield therapies, most of them small pilots.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the state of trials of other non-contact biofield therapies. Must not be transferred to Biofield Tuning, which was not studied.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
Review of studies measuring physiology in biofield practitioners during healing.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the finding about practitioner physiology in other biofield therapies. Must not be read as evidence about Biofield Tuning or about effects in recipients.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
National agency page on Reiki that comments on the energy field proposed for it.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the agency statement about the energy field in Reiki. Must not be read as an assessment of Biofield Tuning.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
Links to Gyfts Biofield Tuning page for this practice, for discovery only. The platform's descriptions and claims are not independent claims. Machipedia does not rely on them for evidence.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Links to Gyfts' page for this practice, for discovery only. The platform's descriptions and claims are not independent evidence, and nothing on this Machipedia page relies on them.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description