Overview
This page covers Access Bars, a hands-on technique from the Access Consciousness organisation, and how the term is used by its facilitators and by critics. It sets out the founder's account of its origin, the reported session formats, the reasons people give for trying it, and the few published studies, all small and uncontrolled. It also records where the organisation's own statements could not be checked.
Where does Access Bars come from?
The founder's account
Access Bars belongs to Access Consciousness, a self-help organisation founded in the United States by Gary Douglas. Critical accounts by Gorski, Hall and Jarry report that Douglas says the 32 points were conveyed to him by channelling, naming the Russian mystic Grigori Rasputin as the source. This is the founder's claim as relayed by these commentators, and it is not a historical fact that scholarship has established.
Dates differ between sources
Sources give different start dates. Jarry places the channelling at a party in 1987, Gorski says the Bars were channelled around 1990, and an encyclopedia entry on new religious movements says the organisation was founded in 1991 under the name Access Energy Transformation and renamed Access Consciousness in 1995. The organisation's own pages, which might settle the question, could not be retrieved for this draft, so no single date is adopted here.
An Access Consciousness blog post from 2018 says the Bars were developed more than 25 years earlier and describes Dain Heer as a co-creator of the wider system. The encyclopedia entry says Heer, a chiropractor, joined Douglas in 2001. These accounts do not conflict, though the entry's author and sources are not stated on the page.
Spread and scale
The organisation's 2018 blog post reports practice in 173 countries and over 10,000 trained facilitators. Gorski, writing in 2024, cites over 15,000 practitioners and 486 courses worldwide, and Hall reports a claim of operation in 170 countries. These are the organisation's own figures as relayed in the sources, and none has been independently audited.
What do the names and terms mean?
Bars, Access Bars and Access Consciousness
Access Consciousness is the wider system, which Hall reports as offering thousands of 'tools'. Access Bars is one technique within it and is sometimes shortened to 'the Bars'. Practitioners use the phrase 'running the Bars' for touching the points, as quoted by Gorski. A Brazilian review uses the title 'access bars to consciousness', and Portuguese-language papers use 'Barra de Access'.
The 32 points and their names
A 2026 Brazilian case report describes the technique as gentle touch on 32 points on the head, 16 on each side, and lists point names drawn from a practitioner's article. They include control, creativity, ageing, healing, body and sexuality, sadness and joy, and communication. Each point is said to relate to an area of life. The organisation's own description of the points was not opened, so the naming here rests on this secondary source.
Hall and Gorski both report the claim that the points hold thoughts, emotions and memories. Both commentators compare the idea to phrenology, the discredited reading of character from the skull. That comparison is their critical framing and not a term used by practitioners, and similar wording does not make the two practices equivalent.
What does Access Bars involve?
Session format in published reports
In the 2026 case report the participant lay on her back on a treatment couch with her eyes closed and was asked to relax through breathing while the 32 points were touched gently. She was also advised to repeat two affirmation phrases daily during the course of treatment. This is one clinic's protocol and not a standard sequence.
Doses used in the small studies
The 2017 pilot study gave one 90-minute session. The 2023 police case series gave seven 60-minute sessions over seven weeks, delivered by a licensed Access Bars facilitator at a naturopathic clinic in Hampshire, England. These formats come from study abstracts. The sources reviewed do not state what clothing is worn or what the recipient is told during a session.
Training and oversight
Gorski describes practitioners as people who have completed a one-day online course, and Jarry reports a one-day certification costing about USD 440. No statutory regulation, professional register or independent training standard for Access Bars facilitators was found in the sources reviewed. The organisation certifies its own facilitators, and the organisation's class pages could not be retrieved to confirm current content or requirements.
What is Access Bars used for?
What the organisation and practitioners describe
Hall reports the organisation's claim that touching the points clears mental clutter and negative energy, and Gorski reports claims that extend to relationships and finances. A Brazilian review lists reported benefits including relaxation, pain relief, reduced anxiety and stress, better sleep, mental clarity and release of trauma. The review's abstract presents these as reported effects and also says few studies have been published to demonstrate effectiveness.
Mental health and other uses studied
The published reports found test the technique for anxiety, depression, stress and post-traumatic stress symptoms in small groups, and for tinnitus distress in one combined-treatment case. The organisation's blog promotes the 2017 pilot study as a result. These uses have been examined only in uncontrolled designs, so none of them is an established indication.
Statements about psychiatric medicines
Gorski reports that Access Consciousness material advises avoiding medicines for attention and mood conditions on the ground that they 'alter who you are', and Jarry reports a practitioner's account of a client stopping antidepressants after sessions. These are critics' reports of the organisation's materials, and they were not checked against the original documents. They are recorded here because they bear on care boundaries.
What does the research show?
Searches run and what was found
PubMed searches on 5 October 2026 for the terms 'Access Bars', 'Access Bar' and 'Access Consciousness' in titles and abstracts returned no trial or review of this technique. The only hits for 'Access Bar' concerned a sports nutrition product, and 'Access Consciousness' hits concerned a theory of consciousness. Web searches found the small studies below. No systematic review or clinical guideline covering Access Bars was found.
Two small uncontrolled studies
The 2017 pilot study by Terrie Hope included seven adults aged 25 to 68 with mild to severe anxiety or depression, who had one 90-minute session. Scores on the Beck Anxiety Inventory fell from 23.3 to 3.6 and on the Beck Depression Inventory-II from 22.3 to 3.9 immediately afterwards, with EEG changes also reported. The abstract describes no comparison group, and the full text was behind a paywall.
The 2023 case series by the same author included four police officers who had depression, anxiety, stress or post-traumatic stress symptoms despite earlier treatment. After seven sessions, mean depression scores fell from 31 to 7.5, and one officer's PTSD checklist score fell from 38 to 18. The abstract reports no control group, and with four participants the findings cannot be generalised.
Reviews and a single case report
A 2020 bibliographic review by Freitag concluded that few studies had demonstrated effectiveness. A 2023 survey-based paper of 15 participants, with a literature review, reported anxiety and self-esteem improvements while stating that the technique lacks sufficient scientific validation and needs randomised controlled studies. Only the repository abstract of that paper was opened.
The 2026 case report combined Access Bars with ear acupressure and speech-language counselling for one woman with tinnitus. The authors say effects cannot be attributed to a single component, that generalising is not recommended, and that evidence for Access Bars is limited and lacks randomised trials. It cites a 2023 university thesis that could not be opened.
What are the criticisms and limits?
Design limits of the studies
The two studies by Hope relied on self-reported scales completed immediately after sessions, without a described comparison group, so changes could reflect relaxation, expectation, natural fluctuation or other care received. Gorski describes both as very small case series. Jarry says other studies cited by supporters, using thermography and EEG, show at most relaxation during lying down, and these original reports were not located.
Plausibility of the proposed mechanism
Hall, Gorski and Jarry each state that no scientific basis has been shown for points on the head storing thoughts or emotions, and Hall says the article cites no research supporting the claims. These are expert commentaries from skeptical publications, not peer-reviewed assessments. A proposed mechanism is not evidence of benefit either way, and a lack of trials is not evidence that no effect exists.
What are the safety considerations?
Adverse effects and what was not reported
None of the abstracts or papers reviewed reported adverse events, and none described how adverse events were recorded. The studies were too small and short for an absence of reports to show that none occur. The sources reviewed identify no formal contraindications for light touch to the head.
Care boundaries
Access Bars has not been shown in controlled trials to treat depression, anxiety, post-traumatic stress or tinnitus, and the case report's authors say it should be offered alongside evidence-supported care. Gorski raises the concern that statements about psychiatric medicines could lead a person to stop treatment. A person with persistent low mood, anxiety or other symptoms can speak to a doctor, and medicines should not be changed without the prescriber.
Sessions involve light touch to the head, so a person can ask what contact to expect and can ask the facilitator to stop. Training is a short, privately certified course and no independent regulator or register was found in the sources reviewed, so claims about a facilitator's qualifications are worth asking about directly.
Connected Entries
Showing 8 of 17 related records.
Classification and context
- Entry type
- Modality
- Practice type
- Light-touch energy technique taught within a personal-development system
- Traditions
- Access Consciousness, New Age channelled teachings, Energy psychology
- Concepts
- 32 points on the head, Stored thoughts, beliefs and emotions, Running the Bars, Facilitator certification
- Categories
- Metaphysical, Alternative
Sources and discovery context
Research and public-health sources support evidence and safety context. Directory and discovery sources describe navigation, relationships, practitioners, and access—not clinical efficacy.
Reports before and after scores for seven adults after one session, with no comparison group described in the abstract.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the reported abstract-level scores only. Must not be read as showing efficacy or as controlled evidence.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Describes seven weekly sessions and self-reported score changes in four officers.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports abstract-level scores for four people. Must not be generalised or read as comparative evidence.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
The abstract lists reported benefits and says few studies demonstrate effectiveness.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the statement that few studies existed in 2020 and the list of reported benefits. Not a systematic review.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence
Reports a 15-person survey and calls for controlled randomised studies.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the abstract's statement that validation is lacking. Does not show an effect.
- Supports sections
- Research and Evidence
Describes one tinnitus case and states the evidence for the technique is limited.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports the protocol description, point names and the authors' limitation statements. The result cannot be attributed to Access Bars alone.
- Supports sections
- Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Gives a critical account of origin, studies, training length and statements on psychiatric medicines.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports attributed critical claims and counts of practitioners. A skeptical blog article is not a clinical source and not a basis for statements about individuals.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Terminology, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Describes the 32-point claim, the channelling account and the absence of cited research.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports attributed descriptions of claims and the phrenology comparison. Not a clinical source.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Terminology, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence
Gives a critical account of the origin story, one-day certification and cited studies.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports attributed claims on dates, training cost and study quality. Not peer reviewed.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Practice Description, Claimed Uses, Research and Evidence, Safety and Suitability
Gives 1991 for Access Energy Transformation and 1995 for the rename.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Supports only the founding date and renaming given. Author and sourcing unverified, so treat as a lead.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins
Gives the organisation's figures for countries and facilitators and promotes the 2017 study.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Shows what the organisation says about itself and promotes. It is not evidence of benefit.
- Supports sections
- History and Origins, Claimed Uses
Links to Gyfts Access Bars page for this practice, for discovery only. The platform's descriptions and claims are not independent claims. Machipedia does not rely on them for evidence.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Links to Gyfts' page for this practice, for discovery only. The platform's descriptions and claims are not independent evidence, and nothing on this Machipedia page relies on them.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description
HealList page where people can find practitioners and general information about this practice; not evidence.
How this source relates
- Source link
- Exact source page
- Relationship
- Links to HealList's page for this practice, for discovery only. The directory's descriptions and claims are not independent evidence, and nothing on this Machipedia page relies on them.
- Supports sections
- Practice Description